FSAM and Federal Enterprise Architecture Programs

I thought I would share with you that IBM just released a fairly comprehensive paper on FSAM and how to implement it in their toolset. It’s a good read if you are not familiar with the topic.

If you are wondering what FSAM is, it is the Federal Segment Architecture Methodology (FSAM) . FSAM provides a step-by-step process for developing and using segment architectures that was developed by distilling proven best practices from across Federal agencies. Segment Architectures are detailed results-oriented architecture (baseline and target) and a transition strategy for a portion or segment of the enterprise. Use of the FSAM should result in more complete and consistent segment architecture products and will result in greater reuse of segment architectures by providing key information that informs downstream processes for capital planning, security (e.g. certification and accreditation), and the system development life cycle. By 2010, all federal agencies are required to use this method or something very similar according to the Office of Management and Budget (OMB).

The new IBM whitepaper is a great primer if you want to learn about FSAM and the compliance mandates to use it or other methodologies in the federal government.  It will also help you if you use IBM’s recently acquired System Architect (formally Popkin/Telelogic).

The integration of FSAM into federal enterprise architecture programs http://d.scribd.com/ScribdViewer.swf?document_id=16079942&access_key=key-2bp79p3n8i59phv9rzd4&page=1&version=1&viewMode=list

Tags: , , , , ,


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s